Are you…Prolific?

Adversity causes some men to break, and others to break records. -Unknown

Prolific.
1. (of a plant, animal, or person) Producing much fruit or foliage or many offspring.

2. (of an artist, author, or composer) Producing many works.

I’m referring to the works you produce. More specifically, what do you write? What do you write about? Or whom? What genre? One? Two? What are you interested in? What are you interested in accomplishing?

Now I really haven’t looked up statithstics or anything but I don’t think it’s all that common for a writer to write in more than one or two…or three? genres. Correct me if I’m wrong. We find our niche. We find our voice and often times we get lost within our own, well, voices. Why can’t we branch out? Why can’t we write in any and all? I’m saying this because of the idea’s I have for books. I’m saying this because my wife says I am a writer of “all”.  I know the reasons, well, some of them. We love the niche we’re in. We relax in it. It’s natural.

Right now, I’m writing an epic fantasy. I’ve written a childrens picture book. After the fantasy is finished I will dive into a love story. Yes. A love story.

Excerpt:

As he sat in front of his computer, writing, suddenly, he…he began to cry. I watched him, silently. I knew. He put his head down for a few moments. Maybe to gather his thoughts. Or take hold of his emotions. Whatever the reason, I said nothing.  I just watched. God, I loved to watch him write. Then he raised his head, took a deep breath, and continued. He felt their pain and their loss…and I felt him. From my story The Writer’s Girl.

Another childrens book called, The Ice Cream Hat will be written. Hey, I gots kids. I want to write for them.
Also I have a short horror called Obey that I’m thinking about.

What else?Sci-fi. I already have the idea. I have a story that when all is said and done maybe a graphic novel.

What else? Ah so much more.

I have convinced myself that I can write, I believe God blessed me with the mind to achieve this as a full and rewarding career. I have been given so, so many kudos.Furthermore, I have ideas for a tat shop, called GraceFull Ink. A security firm(I spent seven years working in a max pen. An old Friend and band mate has come to me with an idea for a new band. But, after the ideas comes this question: “Now what?”

No, I’m not tooting my horn. Okay, maybe  I am. But I’m just saying what I feel. My opinion. And isn’t it true, though? If this message finds you, listen.

We’re on to something here. I want to leave this earth saying this semi famous or famous motto, paraphrased, of course:

“God?…I’m…I’m home?”

Yes, Tymothy. The gift’s I bestowed unto you?”

“Used them as you guided me…Father.”

Well done.

No such thing as being stretched too thin. It’s all possible.

I am…no not Number Four. I am…prolific.

#ForThoseAboutToRock

I salute you.

We can do this.

Commit to the Lord whatever you do, and your plans will succeed. Proverbs 16:3 NIV

Be blessed!



About Tymothy Longoria

Tymothy Longoria has been described as a writer with a flair for the dramatic (whether this is true still remains to be seen). He is a fan of all things fantastic, metal music, black t-shirts, and aligns himself with geeks, nerds, and all manner of monsters, and is an ardent, optimistic supporter of his fellow creatives. He has written several short stories for the online macabre zine Underneath The Juniper Tree and in 2012 was awarded Debut Author of the Year by Twisted Core Press for 'Envy', his contribution to the Seven Deadly Sins Anthology. He is currently editing his full-length dark fantasy retelling, Revenants: Book One of The Stories. Fairy tales? If only. Legends will be reborn. Tymothy calls Texas home, where he lives with his wife, two children, and a cat called ThunderCat aka Kitty PawKitty. He is represented by Bree Ogden of Red Sofa Literary. View all posts by Tymothy Longoria

3 responses to “Are you…Prolific?

Leave a Reply

