Jaque Thay:Yes, I Write For A Living

What it means to be a writer

I make a living from my writing and I’ll freely admit, it’s difficult, but I do it because I love it. I have no job security, no pension beyond what I can afford to save and if I run out of ideas… heaven forbid! Despite that I write because I must. This guest post is a perfect example of that; for almost a year I’ve used Twitter,-follow me @Jaque_Thay– as a method for communicating with other writers – every day I will post a twiction (a short story told in exactly 140 letters) and I am always on the lookout for opportunities. Today I spotted a retweet from one of Tymothy’s followers; someone helping him spread the word that he was looking for a few extra posts for his site. Of course I jumped at the chance! Why wouldn’t I? As I’ve said, I love to write. I couldn’t start straight away though – first I had to finish my other, paid work, (hey, being a famous writer who works for free is great… but I like to eat!) and that takes time. Now, to cut to the chase…

In a way I suppose I’ve already answered my own question; what does it mean to be a writer? Well, obviously it’s about being a person who loves to write. It’s being a person who talks with others about their writing and it’s about being part of a broad and friendly community. From a chance encounter tonight I’ve made a new acquaintance, helped that person and indulged in a spot of extra writing to boot. Unlike some of my paid work I have no expectation of a financial reward for this – instead I can take satisfaction from the joy of writing and the camaraderie of new bonds formed. I’ve gained an interesting blog to read, and I might (if Tymothy is happy to post this last bit) receive a little bit of free advertising for my books too – you can buy them here at my store. Hey, I said I had ‘no expectation’ – but as I also said… I like to eat!

Thank you, Jaque, more than happy. Well, what can I say but quote your own words:I can take satisfaction from the joy of writing and the camaraderie of new bonds formed.

Indeed.

-Jaque Thay is a young author with a degree in Creative and Professional Writing who works earns his living from proofreading and editing other people’s work. One day he would love to be rich and famous from his own writing instead. To date several of his short stories have been published through small presses and Deadstar Publishing have released two themed collections of his short stories.~From Jaque’s Blog.

To find out more about him and his love for writing please visit:

About Jaque

Follow Jaque and his Twiction‘s here:

@Jaque_Thay

Also visit his blog and lend a hand! Writers eat, too!

Librarium Of Jaque Thay:Store

About Tymothy Longoria

Tymothy Longoria has been described as a writer with a flair for the dramatic (whether this is true still remains to be seen). He is a fan of all things fantastic, metal music, black t-shirts, and aligns himself with geeks, nerds, and all manner of monsters, and is an ardent, optimistic supporter of his fellow creatives. He has written several short stories for the online macabre zine Underneath The Juniper Tree and in 2012 was awarded Debut Author of the Year by Twisted Core Press for 'Envy', his contribution to the Seven Deadly Sins Anthology. He is currently editing his full-length dark fantasy retelling, Revenants: Book One of The Stories. Fairy tales? If only. Legends will be reborn. Tymothy calls Texas home, where he lives with his wife, two children, and a cat called ThunderCat aka Kitty PawKitty. He is represented by Bree Ogden of Red Sofa Literary. View all posts by Tymothy Longoria

Leave a Reply

