Guest Post: I’m gonna be a Rockstar by Heather Reese

I’m gonna be a rockstar.

#WritersAreTheNewRockStars


Or at least that is what I thought hoped.  I hadn’t really given up hope, until I got too old to try out for American Idol.  This season that is on right now would have been my last shot.  Would I have made it very far? Or even made it to Hollywood? Would I ever have thousands of screaming fans singing my lyrics back to me while I’m on stage?  I’ll never know. Maybe it’s better that way, so I can keep dreaming that I would have.

I’ll tell you one thing for sure though. Even when I wrote poetry in high school, even when I enjoyed writing other people’s papers for them in school, even when I got standing ovations for inspirational speeches I had written, even when people came to me to write toasts for them for weddings, even when I started this blog…. it had never occurred to me that writing might be my niche.  I was having a conversation with a fellow blogger the other day, and they said “Yeah, when you are a writer….”

Stop.

What?

Me? A writer? Ha!

And then I thought about it…. All I’ve ever wanted to be able to do was to say that I’ve made someone’s day/life better because of something I did. Because they heard one of my songs and they could relate and it made them feel better. What is the difference between that, and what I do here on my blog?

Nothing.

These posts are like my songs.  And all I want to do, is know that one of my ‘songs’ made a difference in someone’s day, or that someone can relate to the lyrics I’m singing, or that I wrote that one post that hit home with someone so much, that they couldn’t help but pass it on because they thought others could relate.

So, I think I’ve found it. My niche is writing. Or at least a few hundred of you seem to think….lol. Hey… I’ll take it where I can get it.

Author of My Husband Ate All My Ice Cream, and mom to 4 kids and 4 dogs. Full time job: Trying to stay sane.“–from her Twitter profile. Follow her on The Twitter @@icecreamdeprivd


Thank you very much for this Heather. I, we believe in you. This is something that we all believe. Hope is the bridge to success. We must take the steps necessary to cross it. No matter what beast we see lurking in the waters. Or what enemy may be waiting on the other side. Cross and claim your victory.

I am gonna be a Rockstar.

Be blessed.

About Tymothy Longoria

Tymothy Longoria has been described as a writer with a flair for the dramatic (whether this is true still remains to be seen). He is a fan of all things fantastic, metal music, black t-shirts, and aligns himself with geeks, nerds, and all manner of monsters, and is an ardent, optimistic supporter of his fellow creatives. He has written several short stories for the online macabre zine Underneath The Juniper Tree and in 2012 was awarded Debut Author of the Year by Twisted Core Press for 'Envy', his contribution to the Seven Deadly Sins Anthology. He is currently editing his full-length dark fantasy retelling, Revenants: Book One of The Stories. Fairy tales? If only. Legends will be reborn. Tymothy calls Texas home, where he lives with his wife, two children, and a cat called ThunderCat aka Kitty PawKitty. He is represented by Bree Ogden of Red Sofa Literary. View all posts by Tymothy Longoria

7 responses to “Guest Post: I’m gonna be a Rockstar by Heather Reese

Leave a Reply

