I Am Writer and Writing For Me…

We have all seen those posts giving tips on what to do be a stronger writer. No bs–they are invaluable and if you have written one of those, thank you.  I’ll be joining the ranks soon and I also give “tips” on Twitter myself. I also ran across a blog post stating what not to do. Twas brilliant. While all of these things are worth more than gold to a writer–I believe the next exercise is worth trying out.

Simply write one way or a hundred ways that writing has changed you.

Writing for me has–

…awakened the younger me.

…made me a stonger person.

…made me a better man.

…strengthened the bonds with my family.

…made me appreciate Gods gifts, sincerely.

…reminded me of those who work in the hottest of hot suns for very little pay.

…made me reach into myself and find out that I am worth loving.

…convinced me that the gifts and calling of God cannot be taken away.

…proven to be a way to support others in their calling to write. To put their very hearts and souls into every word they type.

…made me push myself to do the same.

…introduced me to some of the best, most deserving, talented people I know. They have the same dreams as me.

…awakened me.

…made me love reading more.

…shown me that I am a poet and a writer–because I believe I am.

…renewed my gratitude towards Christ.

…made me to dream bigger and brighter.

…simply put-

Changed. My. Life.

“Be yourself. Above all, let who you are, what you are, what you believe, shine through every sentence you write, every piece you finish.”–John Jake.

Writers? What has writing done for you?

About Tymothy Longoria

Tymothy Longoria has been described as a writer with a flair for the dramatic (whether this is true still remains to be seen). He is a fan of all things fantastic, metal music, black t-shirts, and aligns himself with geeks, nerds, and all manner of monsters, and is an ardent, optimistic supporter of his fellow creatives. He has written several short stories for the online macabre zine Underneath The Juniper Tree and in 2012 was awarded Debut Author of the Year by Twisted Core Press for 'Envy', his contribution to the Seven Deadly Sins Anthology. He is currently editing his full-length dark fantasy retelling, Revenants: Book One of The Stories. Fairy tales? If only. Legends will be reborn. Tymothy calls Texas home, where he lives with his wife, two children, and a cat called ThunderCat aka Kitty PawKitty. He is represented by Bree Ogden of Red Sofa Literary. View all posts by Tymothy Longoria

7 responses to “I Am Writer and Writing For Me…

  • C.B. Wentworth

    Writing . . .

    . . . lets me truly be who I am.
    . . . pushes my creativity to new levels.
    . . . challenges me like nothing else.
    . . . has made me stronger than I ever thought possible.
    . . . has connected me to a group of wonderful people/writers.
    . . . gives me something meaningful to do each day.
    . . . always reminds me that there is so much beauty in the world.
    . . . forces me to learn the grammar I ignored in school.
    . . . never lets me give up.

    Great topic and beautiful sentiments.

  • AmyBeth Inverness

    Writing has given me my brain back.
    Before adopting one child and giving birth to another, my husband and I endured 10 years of various infertility treatments. Those pills make a woman crazy, and 9 months of pregnancy hormones followed by baby boot camp made it worse. I noticed a profound difference in my ability to reason and concentrate.
    Then I started seriously writing. Not just jotting a few unfinished stories here and there, but really writing with a purpose. It made a difference. My brain felt like it was getting a workout, and I found, eventually, that I was able to concentrate again.
    I may not be ready to query yet, but I’ve already reaped a great reward from my writing. All that you listed rings true, but for me, regrowing braincells is the most profound benefit.

    • Tymothy Longoria

      Amy, my Friend. Amen to that. God has a way of doing things when and how we least expect it. Writing as therapy? Of COURSE. Indeed, growing new brain cells. Igniting that initial spark that turns into a flame that cannot be consumed. #WriteOn

  • Natalie

    While I wish it was all peaches and roses the whole writing thing for me hasn’t been. Yeah, I can pretty much say same as everyone else has: It truly has made me a “stronger me”. Gives me hope. Makes me happy. Lets my creative self out and all that jazz.

    BUT in the past year of finding this new me, I haven’t cleaned the house as often as I once did, ’cause the mess will be there later (hubby usually gets it when I don’t). I haven’t cooked as much as I used to, ’cause hubby will do it. Laundry? What’s that? (hubby does it). My kids always seem to want to do something with me while I am in my creative zone. So, I try to stay up late after they sleep and do my thing then. So my sleeping patterns have been wacky. And forget about staying shape! Holy cow! I’ve gained weight with always sitting on the computer.

    Why am I telling you all this? LOL

    Well, they say you are more likely to reach a goal when you make it public. So my goal is this:

    To better balance my life with my family and my love for writing.

    One thing this journey has shown me is that I have a loving ever supportive family! ❤

    • Natalie

      …and I should have proof read that before I hit send but I am trying to get out the door to see a movie with the family! 🙂

    • Tymothy Longoria

      No. Writing has its down sides as well. All part of the tree. Write on. These are honest examples of the other side of writing and what it means. It shows the world that everything we do is not “peaches and roses.”

      Good on you!

Leave a Reply

