The Stories: Book One “Genesis”

Chapter Two: Thunder Above Me, Blood Below

“Little, little girl…I am going to kill you,” he said.

She let out a cry that gave her hiding place away.

He pulled back a fallen partition to find the small child, huddled up, shaking violently in her red cloak. “Do you know why you wear that color, girl? Long ago, someone died. That is why! Your race and your symbols!” he growled in repulsion and spat on her hood. “This will hurt you. It will be…painful. But you will be dead soon after,” he said, sure of himself. “Without question, you will bleed. Your blood will spill over your cloak and become one with it, just as the beginnings of your history. However, no honor will accompany you,” the young beast said softly, grinning.

Confused at his words she could only ask, “Where is my Gramma?”

“Dead. You will soon join her, I assure you. Would you die for your Logos? Your Granny did. That is what I’m here for,” he said callously as he raised his long-fingered hand and pressed his claws to her face. One finger pushed into her forehead, breaking the skin.

She let out a cry, a slow and steady one.

Deliberately he joined two more fingers with the first, tearing her skin in two ripping the flesh away. She screamed. He did not muffle her and her voice echoed loudly through the trees. But no one could hear her calls. As the claws neared her eye, she closed them tightly. He whispered into her ear: “No. Before you die, I want you to see your assassin. Open your eyes.” His claws then made their way over her right eye and resumed the cutting into the skin on her cheek. “I wonder if I can mark even your skull. Perhaps I shall keep it…my prize,” he said, heavily invested in his actions. “No, no. Labadon would crush your skull like the dust it is made of. He would revile at the sight of it in his land!” he said softly, taunting her. He hunched over her on his hind legs and almost surveyed the damage he had inflicted as a painter to his canvas. His lips quivered as he looked into her eyes. He delighted in this kill. He lifted his bloodied claws directly in front of her face as if to brag. She attempted to scream as she covered her face. Her hands were soon diverting the blood from her torn flesh on her face down her hands and arms. He then swiped at her torso numerous times while growling a muted growl. It was a horrible attack. Cold, and with no remorse.

She was becoming weak. The intense pain made her unable to cry anymore. She was in shock and her eyes were glassed over. She seemed to stare at him. The sheer strength of his blows knocked her unconscious. She was only nine. The wolf assassin stood up, wiped his sharp claws on her cloak and left, swiftly, after his leader.

“She is dead! It is finished and yet, we have only just begun!” he yelled to his master.

What was once a home filled with joy, laughter and love was now one of silence and ruin. Two innocents lay disfigured. Dead. It was a massacre. Only a beast full of evil could have carried out such an attack. The rain poured down heavily almost as loud as stampeding auroch. The sound drowned out L’rrh’s whimpers as she awakened, an hour or so later. Her eyes widened and she let out a visceral yell. Then silence.

Grandma, she thought and looked out towards the front of the house. A bit of strength entered her body. It was as if her very soul cried out to her and caused her to move. If I can just see Gramma…once more, she thought to herself. The lightning crashed and with each flash a small, broken and bloodied figure was revealed, arising in the darkness. Her knees buckled under her and she fell to the floor. With every inch she moved, it felt like a mile. She pressed on and made her way through the mud and rubble and crawled towards her grandmother’s body. Finally, with the numbing pain in her body and loss of blood an afterthought, she saw Sarah. “I’m coming,” she whispered. Closer and closer still. Through the mud and rain falling ever harder, she winced from the water hitting her open wounds. “I’m here, Gramma,”…she whispered as she grabbed Sarah’s shawl in her little fingers and squeezed as tight as possible. “Gramma…I love you…the stories you t-told me…it was…you…wasn’t it?” she moaned painfully, her grip loosened and L’orrah…the little girl with the red hood…was gone. The sound of thunder whipped the ground, shaking the earth floor beneath them. The rain fell on their lifeless bodies as equally as on the trampled flowers nearby. It knew no better. The Stories:Book One. The tales you heard as a child? Only rumors of what really happened. God willing this will be on your next must-have list. |m| Because in this fantasy…legends have been reborn.

About Tymothy Longoria

Tymothy Longoria has been described as a writer with a flair for the dramatic (whether this is true still remains to be seen). He is a fan of all things fantastic, metal music, black t-shirts, and aligns himself with geeks, nerds, and all manner of monsters, and is an ardent, optimistic supporter of his fellow creatives. He has written several short stories for the online macabre zine Underneath The Juniper Tree and in 2012 was awarded Debut Author of the Year by Twisted Core Press for 'Envy', his contribution to the Seven Deadly Sins Anthology. He is currently editing his full-length dark fantasy retelling, Revenants: Book One of The Stories. Fairy tales? If only. Legends will be reborn. Tymothy calls Texas home, where he lives with his wife, two children, and a cat called ThunderCat aka Kitty PawKitty. He is represented by Bree Ogden of Red Sofa Literary. View all posts by Tymothy Longoria

15 responses to “The Stories: Book One “Genesis”

  • Hira Hasnain (Enamored Soul)

    From the very day that I have known you, I have known that you are destined to do great things in your life. That belief was based on your personality, your sheer determination, your faith and your hard work. Today, your work and your words lay in front of my eyes – and they are MORE reinforcement than I needed as proof that I have been right from the very beginning about you.

    I absolutely loved the excerpt. I literally felt like I was right there, feeling L’orrah’s desperation and helplessness. I could hear the rain, and I could feel the pain – no easy feat for an author! Your words are almost poetic, even for a scene this stark and grim, and are very effective in evoking both emotion and imagination. Absolutely loved it, Tymothy. Yes, “Genesis” is most CERTAINLY on my MUST-READ list! 😀

    ~Hira~
    Email: Enamoredsoul(at)gmail(dot)com
    Twitter: @inluvwithbookz

    • Tymothy Longoria

      Hira…I am left without words to express my gratitude. Your words at the same time humble me and make me believe more, that it is all possible. You are a Friend, most of all, but I also know you are a Reader. So your words, carry weight. A tremendous weight. I was honored to share this with you and any who come by to read. The prose in this excerpt, the emotion, the passion–I poured it into the story.

      Hira, I can never say it enough, but thank you and I look forward to having you read the full ms and hearing your thoughts.

      Epic is as Epic does.

  • Allie Burke

    Well…

    Sitting here reading your excerpt, I don’t know why I’m surprised. I don’t know why as I read my breathing became heavy and my heartbeat escalated. As if I didn’t know this piece would be so amazing in that immediately it would transport me to another world… its own world. I should have known. Knowing you, I did know. But I’m still surprised. At my instantaneous connection with your words through your fluid writing style and at the feeling of intrigue I get as I think about reading more.

    Excellent. Phenomenal. Superb. I’m breathless and excited and so freaking proud to call you my friend. You, Tymothy Longoria, are a supremely talented Writer.

    … Epic.

  • Tymothy Longoria

    There, right there-“still surprised.” YES! Thank you for that. There is just no way I can top that. Nor would I want to. I love how you worded this: “I’m breathless and excited and so freaking proud to call you my friend.”

    Allie, likewise, my epic Friend. Likewise. You’ve set the bar high for me. And I am hoping fully that my words-the full story-delivers.

    Nerd says what?

    “Boom.”

  • River Jordan

    Just imagine me with my Amazon card in hand waiting. Seriously excited to be able to read what my spritual and gifted friend has written. My body tensed as I read this excerpt and off course my heart racing. I’m that kind of girl. I know that it will be the kind of book that moves me to all extremes.

    There are great things in store for you Tymothy. Our Father has deemed it so.

    God bless you!
    River :o)

    • Tymothy Longoria

      I can’t believe this. I am truly, truly grateful for you and your oh so kind words–they are refreshing and a tremendous blessing to me and my writing. The best part? The one that made me lose my breath? “Our Father has deemed it so.”

      Thank you, River Jordan. Thank you.

      Be blessed!

  • Smash Attack

    Holy canoli! That was intense. Well written, emotions are palpable, the scene is richly terrifying. Woot. Look forward to more. 🙂

  • Morgan (mjmayze)

    Brilliant! It was so intense, I wanted to cry for L’orrah and then exact revenge for her. I love reading your work Tymothy and can’t wait to read more. I agree with everyone’s sentiments above and my own would just be a reiteration, but know that they are true! #epic

  • Tymothy Longoria

    Morgan I was thinking earlier about how you have been among these great people a sincere and much appreciated support to me and my writing. Me as a person. I say a lot-here on this blog for one-that I cannot thank you enough, but I will sure try.

    I shared this excerpt because I wanted the reader to feel for her. I wanted to capture the moment and the ultimate callousness of her attacker. With these amazing comments and yours, I can say I did just that.

    Also…this book is going to make you shout your heart out for the good guy and want to wish the most harmful scenario on the bad.

    THANK YOU!

  • LouAnn

    Wow. Just wow. Loved it!

  • Christin Mowery

    Tymothy, I know that you are an amazing person and that you love our Lord with every ounce of your being. That in itself is enough to love you for all eternity. I know that you are well-spoken and intelligent…it is apparent to everyone who speaks with you…even for a mere minute. Your drive and determination shine almost as bright as His light within you. I KNOW all these things…I HAVE KNOWN all these things from the moment I met you.

    And, yet, I am still in awe…words could not accurately express the pride I feel knowing you are my friend, nor the shock that lingers after reading your passage…even before final edits…that reached within to clench my heart in an icy grip that refused to be released.

    So, let me simply say that God has blessed you beyond measure. He has placed within you a gift…one that you are nurturing…and you will use it to bless the world…one reader at a time.

    I love you.

  • Elaine Allen

    I will TOTALLY buy this!!! Your imagery was brilliant-I was completely immersed! 🙂

Leave a Reply

