Digging Around Underneath The Juniper Tree

He looked up at the sky and shouted to the clouds, “You said this wouldn’t happen again!” Then looked down at all the bones.

Marjorie Merle, Underneath The Juniper Tree

That is seriously one of the best things I’ve ever read. Truly.  For me as the reader it conjures an image of a man crying out to God. I can see it. That’s what great writing does.

See over the weekend on The Twitter, the epic hosts of the online blog and magazine Underneath The Juniper Tree invited all to write their very best short, and I mean short (140 characters) story. The darker and more twisted-the better. I put my knit writing cap on and it refused to be taken off! It was really fun and Marjorie and Tex showed the love. I thanked them for the chance of course and…I read so many great short stories!

Ahhh, Writers. Am I write?

So here I would like to share today a few of mine and maybe one or two of the others.

Note: they are all “dark” in nature. 

As I walked into the valley of the shadow of Death I feared not his evil. My sword & my shield fought with me. I am he who killed Death!  <new story I will “commence”.  

*******************************************

He wanted to kill…I didn’t. I told him to stay and fight the urge. But he left me. My shadow…left me…tonight.

*******************************************

“Why are u dancing? You should be working!

“But…”

“Why are you dancing? You should be working!”

“Okay.”

“Now finish digging those graves!”

*******************************************

I tried to move the body but it was just too heavy! I heard his footsteps through the door! Then I heard him! “Honey, I’m home!”

*******************************************

Her hands were covered in blood. She looked at me with a sincerity, but I knew she did it. “You believe me, don’t you?” she asked.

********************************************

Standing next to my friend I reached into my pocket and read the note, again: The first to go through will die. “You go first,” I said.

********************************************

Obsessed with the Grimm’s the old man’s life would soon end. His last words would be, forevermore be: “Bury me underneath the juniper tree.”

********************************************

After Seven ate Nine…well that was only the beginning of his numbercidal massacre.

Check the one that made it on the SITE!


I’ve decided to run all of my contributions for the next few days!

Word!

Out came the sun and dried up all the rain and the itsy-bitsy spider went off to kill again. @underthejuniper |m|

About Tymothy Longoria

Tymothy Longoria has been described as a writer with a flair for the dramatic (whether this is true still remains to be seen). He is a fan of all things fantastic, metal music, black t-shirts, and aligns himself with geeks, nerds, and all manner of monsters, and is an ardent, optimistic supporter of his fellow creatives. He has written several short stories for the online macabre zine Underneath The Juniper Tree and in 2012 was awarded Debut Author of the Year by Twisted Core Press for 'Envy', his contribution to the Seven Deadly Sins Anthology. He is currently editing his full-length dark fantasy retelling, Revenants: Book One of The Stories. Fairy tales? If only. Legends will be reborn. Tymothy calls Texas home, where he lives with his wife, two children, and a cat called ThunderCat aka Kitty PawKitty. He is represented by Bree Ogden of Red Sofa Literary. View all posts by Tymothy Longoria

2 responses to “Digging Around Underneath The Juniper Tree

Leave a Reply

