Megg Jensen: Riding the Publishing Waves

I had an idea a few weeks ago. What if I featured the authors of DarkSide Publishing, and gave them this venue to write about whatever they felt like writing for the entire week? Well, I asked and they said YES. Megg Jensen was the first and only interview I’ve done, so far and I am happy to have her over again. Thank you, Megg! Without further clickety-clack from me, here’s Megg.

 

I’m not a surfer, not even a swimmer because I’m deathly afraid of going underwater, but I love to watch people catch a curl … well, on TV, because I live in Illinois and it’s really hard to surf on corn.

My first novel, Anathema, debuted back in February. I released the sequel, Oubliette, in June. Both have done really well (Anathema has outsold what’s expected for an average first novel), but there are days when I look at my rankings and get a little bummed. They aren’t always as high as I want them to be.

I don’t know if it’s human nature or just my personality, but I’d like to be, as Charlie Sheen says, “winning” all the time. I’m super-competitive and when Anathema drops in ranking, I brainstorm ways to bring it back up.

That’s time that could be spent working on another book.

So I have to force myself to weigh the two: marketing or writing. More often than not, writing should win.

I can market twenty-four hours a day and see an increase in sales. Maybe. But the number one technique for selling books is something I cannot control. When I need something to read, I don’t go to Amazon and randomly search. No, I ask my friends for a recommendation. Until I learn how to use mind control on my readers to force them to recommend my books, I have to focus on more traditional methods like ads.

But then I have to look at authors I admire, Alison Goodman or Carrie Ryan, and be honest with myself. They don’t sit at #1 every single day. The debut high, they hit peaks, but like everything else in the world, including waves, what goes up must come down. No one can be at the top forever, and really, who wants to be?

The best part of publishing is that everyone has a chance to be a bestseller for a while. Even though my competitive side might want to win, my realistic side knows that’s not how the world works. Readers crave variety and new content…and so do I.

 

From the blog:

Anathema – YA Fantasy (Cloud Prophet Trilogy: Book 1)
Reychel is a slave girl surrounded by magic, lies and manipulation. Her best friend disappears in the middle of the night leaving Reychel to face her fifteenth birthday, the day her master burns his brand into the back of her bald head, alone. She’s sheltered from the outside world and doesn’t have any hope for escape, but when people desperate for freedom ask for her help can Reychel learn to believe in herself?
Ebook: $2.99 Amazon Amazon UK  Amazon DE Barnes & Noble Smashwords

Paperback: $11.00 Amazon Paperback

Oubliette – YA Fantasy (Cloud Prophet Trilogy: Book 2)
Reychel thought she was finally free. She was wrong.
Everyone saw her gift of prophecy as a blessing, but her gift is uncontrollable. No one alive can teach her to manipulate her unique gift and the answers she needs lie buried within a madman’s journals.
She’s thrust in the midst of a brewing war and the only uniting factor for her people is their belief in the Prophet. Will Reychel learn to control her gift or will she be forced to deliver a false prophecy that could lead her people into a violent, unwinnable war?

Ebook: $3.49 Amazon Amazon UK Amazon DE Barnes & Noble Smashwords
Paperback: $11.00  Amazon Paperback 

 

Megg’s Blog: 

 

@meggjensen

 

DarkSide Publishing Blog

 

 

I would like to thank again, Megg for stopping by. 

 

be blessed all!

About Tymothy Longoria

Tymothy Longoria has been described as a writer with a flair for the dramatic (whether this is true still remains to be seen). He is a fan of all things fantastic, metal music, black t-shirts, and aligns himself with geeks, nerds, and all manner of monsters, and is an ardent, optimistic supporter of his fellow creatives. He has written several short stories for the online macabre zine Underneath The Juniper Tree and in 2012 was awarded Debut Author of the Year by Twisted Core Press for 'Envy', his contribution to the Seven Deadly Sins Anthology. He is currently editing his full-length dark fantasy retelling, Revenants: Book One of The Stories. Fairy tales? If only. Legends will be reborn. Tymothy calls Texas home, where he lives with his wife, two children, and a cat called ThunderCat aka Kitty PawKitty. He is represented by Bree Ogden of Red Sofa Literary. View all posts by Tymothy Longoria

Leave a Reply

