Magan Vernon: Always A Writer

Magan Vernon, newest addition to DarkSide Publishing shares with us today what many of us believe with every fiber of our being.
After the birth of my daughter I never thought I would have time to write again.  Between sleepless nights and just caring for another human being I didn’t think I would have time for anything else.  Before she was born I had so much time.  I could stay up late writing, instead of getting up every two hours for a feeding and I had all the time in the world to keep up with social media and a blogging schedule.  But with a little one in my life I found that those things slowly started to dwindle. Instead of checking my tweets, I was checking Youtube for lullaby videos.  It was settled, this was my new life.
After 9 weeks at home I went back to work and thought ‘this is it.’  As I drove my daughter to daycare I thought “I have a great job, a beautiful family, and I don’t need to be a published author.”  Then I passed a trailer park.  There was a boy sitting outside.  He looked around fifteen, wearing a skull cap, a plaid shirt, and smoking a filterless cigarette.  I found myself staring.  I wanted to know this boy’s story.  Why was he sitting outside?  Why was he wearing a skull cap when it was 80 degrees out?  And where were his parents?  That’s when it really hit me.  I will always be a writer.
I do have a great job, I do have a great family, but that isn’t something that should stop me from writing.  There will always be a story in me, whether it spawns from seeing a boy on the side of the road or an entire science fiction trilogy.  Either way, I will always be a writer.
Find more about Magan on her blog here!
Her website!
From DarkSide Publishing:
Self-proclaimed geek-to-glam poster child who channels her inner geek by writing science fiction for teens. Even though she slept with a night light until she was in middle school for fear of alien attacks. She now lives with her husband, daughter, and dog in central Illinois where she still sleeps with a night light…just in case.
High school senior Alex Bianchi’s estranged father gets her an internship at Circe Operations Center to pad her college applications. But Circe isn’t your typical military base. It’s an alien-run operation center and not all of the aliens are friendly, especially the one that tries to kill Alex on her first day. When Ace, a dark-eyed Caltian, enters and saves the day, she can’t help but be drawn to him. Can these star-crossed lovers survive when they’re on the brink of intergalactic war?
Coming Fall 2011
Thank you, Magan!
A huge and sincere thank you and “you’re awesome” to Megg, Karly, Angela, Genevieve, and again, Magan, for gracing Aspire No More with your presence and talent. I am indebted. You have each inspired so many-of this I am sure! Be blessed, all!
thwip!
About Tymothy Longoria

Tymothy Longoria has been described as a writer with a flair for the dramatic (whether this is true still remains to be seen). He is a fan of all things fantastic, metal music, black t-shirts, and aligns himself with geeks, nerds, and all manner of monsters, and is an ardent, optimistic supporter of his fellow creatives. He has written several short stories for the online macabre zine Underneath The Juniper Tree and in 2012 was awarded Debut Author of the Year by Twisted Core Press for 'Envy', his contribution to the Seven Deadly Sins Anthology. He is currently editing his full-length dark fantasy retelling, Revenants: Book One of The Stories. Fairy tales? If only. Legends will be reborn. Tymothy calls Texas home, where he lives with his wife, two children, and a cat called ThunderCat aka Kitty PawKitty. He is represented by Bree Ogden of Red Sofa Literary. View all posts by Tymothy Longoria

One response to “Magan Vernon: Always A Writer

Leave a Reply

