Stop. Seriously.

I was hanging a picture up for my daughter, she’s five, and she started singing. She likes “Moves Like Jagger.” It’s her Maneater.*

I’ve heard her before, but maybe because everything else was quiet, I listened. My daughter can sang. I’m not just saying that because she’s my daughter. But because I’m a singer. My dad is a singer. It runs in the family.

That’s not the point.

Point is… hearing her precious little voice made me think of how very awful it would be to hear her cry. I mean, she’s cried before. She’s had her shots. She’s been upset. My wife and I have consoled her. But I mean, cry from within. I thought of how terrible it would be to have her abused. Or hurt. Emotionally. Mentally. To have her heart saddened. I know in life every one must endure some sadness and pain. We can learn and many times, grow from life’s trials and tribulations. It’s part of this whole living thing.

Without chaos, how can we know how strong we are?

But there is only so much chaos one can bear. Then what happens? Some kids learn from it. Some fight it. Some just say to hell with it…and then it’s over.

To the parents of any child who has had to endure the torment from remarks of the ignorant and hateful I say…you know what? I’ve nothing to say. But I will say this:

Be there for them.

Bethere for your children.

Listen to them.

Be there for them.

When the time comes that they don’t want you to “be there” step away. But be there, waiting.

Some kid’s songs will never be heard again because it just became to much of a burden to bear. 

Tymothy, you’re not saying anything, I don’t already know.

Maybe.

Maybe I’m reminding some of you. Maybe I’m reminding one person.

Maybe I’m reminding myself.

Maybe…I’m reminding some kid who may just read this and the other beautiful messages of hope and love out there.

You are loved You are loved more than you can imagine. This is not a message to “convert” anyone, ( I despise that word) only one of strength and sincerity. Because I believe in a loving and kind God. One who loves straight and gay people. One who loves Black and White and Chinese and Latino people. One who grows  sad seeing kids mistreated for “liking that song” or dressing “that way”. This is not a debate as to why He allows this to happen. Because the answer is there. He allows us to choose.

The bullies who choose to mistreat others do just that. They choose. For so many reasons.

Where are the parents of those kids?

To you I say this:

Be there for them.

Bethere for your children.

Listen to them.

Be there for them.

When the time comes that they don’t want you to “be there” step away. But be there, waiting.

It bears repeating.

Be good to one another! It’s so easy to hate and judge. Why do things the easy way?

I want to hear my daughter sing for as long as I can. I want to see my boy master the drums.

Live in love.

Light is dimming,
consciences slimming
nights are winning
it will never stop.
Wanting,
needing,
screaming for
our hearts to make it stop.
Leaders lying
children crying
in fields
oh, when will it stop?
Hurting,
awaiting,
searching for
a way to make it stop!
Desiring,
pleading,
asking for
this madness all to stop!
Killing goes on,
hearts grow harder
minds go numb
because it doesn’t stop!
Others taking…
their lives…
…for a chance to make it end

The end is near. My ear doth hear.
Mine eyes begin to see.

Will it never?

Won’t it ever?

Please, come make it,

S T O P .

Word.

*Maneater by Hall & Oats was my Moves Like Jagger when I was a youngster.

About Tymothy Longoria

Tymothy Longoria has been described as a writer with a flair for the dramatic (whether this is true still remains to be seen). He is a fan of all things fantastic, metal music, black t-shirts, and aligns himself with geeks, nerds, and all manner of monsters, and is an ardent, optimistic supporter of his fellow creatives. He has written several short stories for the online macabre zine Underneath The Juniper Tree and in 2012 was awarded Debut Author of the Year by Twisted Core Press for 'Envy', his contribution to the Seven Deadly Sins Anthology. He is currently editing his full-length dark fantasy retelling, Revenants: Book One of The Stories. Fairy tales? If only. Legends will be reborn. Tymothy calls Texas home, where he lives with his wife, two children, and a cat called ThunderCat aka Kitty PawKitty. He is represented by Bree Ogden of Red Sofa Literary. View all posts by Tymothy Longoria

4 responses to “Stop. Seriously.

  • Thesethingsandme

    Hi Tymotny. I think your blog is far too successful to qualify probably, but I have presented you with the Liebster Blog Award. If you haven’t heard if it’s basically about sharing great blogs. Love yours and read with interest about your writing. I am working on queries now so follow with interest.

    Enjoy x you can read about the Liebster rules on my blog

  • Thesethingsandme

    Eek…sorry for name spelling..very early here and up with my two year old…terrible!

  • bornstoryteller

    Here’s the thing I believe: you say it’s all been said before, but…if it’s still happening, then you need to say it. Again and again. I just did a post on my blog (last week) about three parents who talked over a lunch at a chain restaurant and ignored their three children…shoving iPhones with games in their faces to shut them up…and the oldest was three.

    yup…be there for your children.

  • Michele Shaw

    T…so special. So succinct. More love, less hate. Word.

Leave a Reply

